‘RS: Siege’ To Launch With 11 Maps, All Future DLC Free

Following Halo 5: Guardians‘ lead, a second big-budget game is moving over to a free DLC model

Earlier today in an interview with PC Gamer, Rainbow Six: Siege‘s level designer, Benoit Deschamps, noted that the game had a slightly below average launch map count when he said, “As for now…, there are ten maps, but we have more planned because we’re already working on more content for players after launch.” He went on to explain that he and other designers originally had well over 50 map concepts before they narrowed down on just under a dozen maps that fit the tone of the game.


Later in the day, Ubisoft corrected some of the statements from the PC Gamer interview. Apparently Benoit was mistaken and there is actually eleven full maps at launch, and each of them can be played during the day or night. While the number is still a little less than many expected from a game that focuses heavily on multiplayer, the ability for play during different times of day will certainly add a bit of variation to how gamers will want to play the game.

To help ease whatever disappointment there may be over the launch map count, Ubisoft also sweetened the deal by noting that all future DLC maps for the game would be free to all. “We want players to stay with us for the long-term and have ambitious post-launch plans that we will detail at a later stage,” explained Ubisoft.

Siege boasts some seriously impressive destructable environments
Siege boasts some seriously impressive destructable environments

Just last month, Ubisoft delayed Siege from late October until early December to make “adjustments and improvements” to several aspects of the game. Despite pushing back launch, the closed beta is still set to begin next week on the 24th for those who pre-ordered the game.

Rainbow Six: Siege launches on Xbox One, PS4 and PC on December 3rd, 2015.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s